fbpx
Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
Visual Objects

Please use this forum to post questions about Visual Objects and Vulcan.NET
  • Page:
  • 1

TOPIC: Exe fails?

Exe fails? 11 Jul 2019 09:47 #9793

  • FFF's Avatar

  • FFF

  • Topic Author


  • Posts: 929
  • Guys,
    yesterday all of a sudden one of my VN- exes started to crash in "KernelBase.dll". No change at the codebase and exe since April. AFAIS, it fails trying to fetch from an access of my customer-table. The access combines two fields. Error 0, function FieldGet.
    Prior to the fail this table is openend, displayed, skipped, all no problem.
    Yes, there were some Windows updates yesterday :( , but by chance i haven't used this specific call in the app for the last week or so.
    Anyone an idea?
    Regards
    Karl (X# 2.4a; Xide 1.25; W8.1/64 German)

    Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

    Exe fails? 11 Jul 2019 17:19 #9804

  • Chris's Avatar

  • Chris


  • Posts: 1891
  • Hi Karl,

    Unfortunately I think this is very little information about the problem to suggest something. I assume you cannot reproduce the problem in your machine?
    XSharp Development Team
    chris(at)xsharp.eu

    Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

    Exe fails? 11 Jul 2019 20:40 #9806

  • FFF's Avatar

  • FFF

  • Topic Author


  • Posts: 929
  • Chris,
    I can, insofar as the crash happens with this special method always... If I run it from Xide, it does the same. But I doubt I will be able to provoke this in a nine liner...
    Regards
    Karl (X# 2.4a; Xide 1.25; W8.1/64 German)

    Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

    Exe fails? 12 Jul 2019 00:09 #9808

  • Chris's Avatar

  • Chris


  • Posts: 1891
  • Can't you run it in debugging mode to get more info? If you want you can send me the complete project zipped so I can have a look.
    XSharp Development Team
    chris(at)xsharp.eu

    Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

    Exe fails? 12 Jul 2019 00:23 #9810

  • ic2's Avatar

  • ic2


  • Posts: 672
  • Hello Karl,

    Two options:

    1 I am updating Windows only every few months (last one a few weeks ago but still using 1809). So if you have a testable project (exe + files) you can send it to me and I can let you know if it works here. At least you can rule out Windows then - or not.

    2 A client of mine had a DLL related problem just this week as well, on Windows server. I recommended to run SFC /scannow and this solved his problems.

    Dick

    Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

    Exe fails? 12 Jul 2019 02:42 #9811

  • Jamal's Avatar

  • Jamal


  • Posts: 197
  • Test your EXE on another computer?

    Does you get the same error?
    - Yes, issue with your EXE.
    - No, possibly you have a corrupted Windows user profile on current computer. Create another user profile and see if the app works.
    - None of the above: keep searching for a solution!

    Jamal



    Jamal

    FFF wrote: Guys,
    yesterday all of a sudden one of my VN- exes started to crash in "KernelBase.dll". No change at the codebase and exe since April. AFAIS, it fails trying to fetch from an access of my customer-table. The access combines two fields. Error 0, function FieldGet.
    Prior to the fail this table is openend, displayed, skipped, all no problem.
    Yes, there were some Windows updates yesterday :( , but by chance i haven't used this specific call in the app for the last week or so.
    Anyone an idea?

    Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

    Last edit: by Jamal.

    Exe fails? 12 Jul 2019 09:50 #9812

  • FFF's Avatar

  • FFF

  • Topic Author


  • Posts: 929
  • Jamal wrote: Test your EXE on another computer?
    Does you get the same error?
    - Yes, issue with your EXE.
    - No, possibly you have a corrupted Windows user profile on current computer. Create another user profile and see if the app works.
    - None of the above: keep searching for a solution!

    Just tried, but i have no other machine with an installed VN anymore...
    Meanwhile found, that all funtionality seems to work, except calls to printing routines, which access my customer table. But at that point, this table is already in use, showing the actual record in a datawindow. Does that make any sense?

    FFF wrote: Guys,
    yesterday all of a sudden one of my VN- exes started to crash in "KernelBase.dll". No change at the codebase and exe since April. AFAIS, it fails trying to fetch from an access of my customer-table. The access combines two fields. Error 0, function FieldGet.
    Prior to the fail this table is openend, displayed, skipped, all no problem.
    Yes, there were some Windows updates yesterday :( , but by chance i haven't used this specific call in the app for the last week or so.
    Anyone an idea?

    [/quote]
    Regards
    Karl (X# 2.4a; Xide 1.25; W8.1/64 German)

    Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

    Last edit: by FFF.

    Exe fails? 12 Jul 2019 10:23 #9813

  • FFF's Avatar

  • FFF

  • Topic Author


  • Posts: 929
  • Dick,
    thx for offer. Run scf, got lots of "duplicate ownership" and "not owned but points to..." in the log. IIUIC, it replaced msfeedsync, but that service was anyway disabled. In the end it notes: "verify and Repair Transaction completed. All files and registry keys listed in this transaction have been successfully repaired".
    But the error persists ;(
    Regards
    Karl (X# 2.4a; Xide 1.25; W8.1/64 German)

    Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

    Last edit: by FFF.

    Exe fails? 12 Jul 2019 11:00 #9815

  • FFF's Avatar

  • FFF

  • Topic Author


  • Posts: 929
  • Hi Chris,
    watch your mail - you asked for it, so you got it ;)

    Thx
    Karl
    Regards
    Karl (X# 2.4a; Xide 1.25; W8.1/64 German)

    Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

    Exe fails? 12 Jul 2019 11:01 #9816

  • Karl-Heinz's Avatar

  • Karl-Heinz


  • Posts: 555
  • Hi Karl,

    it seems the last patchday gives some troubles. Are you running Windows Defender ?

    HereĀ“s a link to some more infos:

    borncity.com/win/2019/07/11/windows-july...-updates-breaks-sfc/

    regards
    Karl-Heinz

    Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

    Exe fails? 12 Jul 2019 13:41 #9827

  • FFF's Avatar

  • FFF

  • Topic Author


  • Posts: 929
  • Interesting,thx. Yes, Defender here....
    EDIT: Following the link, i tried the solution at the end of the article with "DISM..." - All three calls succeeded at 100%, - but my exe still crashs, sniff.
    Regards
    Karl (X# 2.4a; Xide 1.25; W8.1/64 German)

    Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

    Last edit: by FFF.

    Exe fails? 12 Jul 2019 15:51 #9830

  • FFF's Avatar

  • FFF

  • Topic Author


  • Posts: 929
  • Advice asked: i could try to restore to system-checkpoint from July, 8th - would you think that a good idea?

    TIA
    K.
    Regards
    Karl (X# 2.4a; Xide 1.25; W8.1/64 German)

    Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

    Exe fails? 12 Jul 2019 18:37 #9840

  • Jamal's Avatar

  • Jamal


  • Posts: 197
  • So, it is only when you print??

    Wild guess!! May be you have a corrupted printer driver! Uninstall the driver and find if there is an updated version and install, otherwise remove and install again.

    FFF wrote: Just tried, but i have no other machine with an installed VN anymore...
    Meanwhile found, that all funtionality seems to work, except calls to printing routines, which access my customer table. But at that point, this table is already in use, showing the actual record in a datawindow. Does that make any sense?

    Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

    Last edit: by Jamal.

    Exe fails? 12 Jul 2019 19:14 #9842

  • FFF's Avatar

  • FFF

  • Topic Author


  • Posts: 929
  • Yes, ultimately it would be printing. But the crash appears way upstream, while building the data to later send to printer driver.
    Will rethink over night, probably going back to restore point might be the safest option...

    Jamal wrote: So, it is only when you print??

    Wild guess!! May be you have a corrupted printer driver! Uninstall the driver and find if there is an updated version and install, otherwise remove and install again.

    FFF wrote: Just tried, but i have no other machine with an installed VN anymore...
    Meanwhile found, that all funtionality seems to work, except calls to printing routines, which access my customer table. But at that point, this table is already in use, showing the actual record in a datawindow. Does that make any sense?

    Regards
    Karl (X# 2.4a; Xide 1.25; W8.1/64 German)

    Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

    Exe fails? 12 Jul 2019 19:49 #9845

  • wriedmann's Avatar

  • wriedmann


  • Posts: 2232
  • Hi Karl,

    to make your VN application work, you don't need any machine with VN installed. The installation of the runtime alone should be enough.

    Wolfgang
    Wolfgang Riedmann
    Meran, South Tyrol, Italy

    www.riedmann.it - docs.xsharp.it

    Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

    Exe fails? 13 Jul 2019 00:05 #9852

  • Chris's Avatar

  • Chris


  • Posts: 1891
  • Hi Karl,

    I got your project file, but I am missing an .ini file required by your app, can you please send this as well? Also the .dbf please, it will save me the time locating which one it is.
    Also did you try to run the app through the debugger? Did it tell you in exactly which line the error occurred?
    XSharp Development Team
    chris(at)xsharp.eu

    Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

    Exe fails? 13 Jul 2019 10:24 #9854

  • Terry's Avatar

  • Terry


  • Posts: 176
  • Hi Karl

    Unfortunately most of the foregoing is guesswork.

    The fact that the update has brought up only one immediatedly identifiable error points towards that update having been correctly installed as intended.

    MS will have submitted the update itself to a rigorous check within its computerised "Environment Model" before release.

    On the balance of probabilities it is likely that somewhere, at some depth in your program execution chain there is something which clashes with MS specifications. Not necessarily in your own code.

    I would try to put in some strategy to pinpoint the cause. Going back to a previous situation is akin to kicking the ball down the road. Things will come back to bite you eventually.

    Firstly can you print through any other program? A driver fault would probably, but not necessarily, prevent this.

    Secondly it may be worthwile putting a few MessageBoxes (say showing List Lengths and so on) at various strategic points in you program. You may find they are not being called at all or perhaps twice when your mental concept of the program structure has them only called once.

    Remember two wrongs do not make a right, even though a wrong may cancel out the "wrongness" of another wrong.

    I am sure I am not the only one to have found my programs were not working in the way I had always thought.


    Terry

    Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

    Exe fails? 13 Jul 2019 23:21 #9855

  • FFF's Avatar

  • FFF

  • Topic Author


  • Posts: 929
  • Folks,
    as usual, Chris came to rescue. It seems, the table is somehow "corrupt". Replacing it with an old version (from 2012 ;)), the app works as usual.
    For me it's still a mystery, how it is possible that this one table opens in Datawindow, skips, searches, and then crashes the app from this some actions, which at that point of crash do nothing more than a Fieldget?

    Good night and thx for assistance.
    Regards
    Karl (X# 2.4a; Xide 1.25; W8.1/64 German)

    Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

    Exe fails? 14 Jul 2019 00:30 #9856

  • Chris's Avatar

  • Chris


  • Posts: 1891
  • Hi Karl,

    It's because only some of the records are corrupted, and not the whole of them, just the memos I think, some records had corrupted memo headers. So the error happened only when needing to use the memos of those specific records. I think you told me that once you manipulated this dbf with an external tool, pretty sure this was what corrupted it.

    In any case, very glad it is all working fine for you now!

    Chris
    XSharp Development Team
    chris(at)xsharp.eu

    Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

    • Page:
    • 1