fbpx
Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
Welcome to the XSharp forum!

Tell us and our members who you are, what you like and why you became a member of this site.
We welcome all new members and hope to see you around a lot!
  • Page:
  • 1

TOPIC:

Reportpro 3 and windows 10 28 May 2019 11:53 #9136

  • BenWoestenburg's Avatar

  • BenWoestenburg

  • Topic Author


  • Posts: 7
  • After I have created the rp3Runtime and call a method the next error appear:

    An unhandled exception occured in module OLEAUT32.DLL of your Application!
    Code 0xC0000005 (EIP = 0x759B57BF)
    RP3 Runtime

    I have tried the same on a XP-machine and there it works fine. I only had the problem with embedded pictures as mentioned by Dick.

    Do you have any ideas?
    Attachments:

    Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

    Reportpro 3 and windows 10 28 May 2019 12:31 #9137

  • wriedmann's Avatar

  • wriedmann


  • Posts: 2300
  • Hi Ben,

    do you have registered the RP3 OLE objects on this machine?
    Unfortunately I don't use RP3 myself, but I have seen it working on Windows 10 machines (also on one of my test machines).

    Wolfgang
    Wolfgang Riedmann
    Meran, South Tyrol, Italy

    www.riedmann.it - docs.xsharp.it

    Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

    Reportpro 3 and windows 10 29 May 2019 14:39 #9150

  • BenWoestenburg's Avatar

  • BenWoestenburg

  • Topic Author


  • Posts: 7
  • Hi Wolfgang,

    That was the problem. I have registered RpRt309.Dll and now it works fine.

    Danke.

    Ben

    Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

    Reportpro 3 and windows 10 31 May 2019 10:46 #9183

  • robert's Avatar

  • robert


  • Posts: 1793
  • Ben,
    Have a look at "registry free COM".
    That saves you a lot of problems like this one.
    The short version of the solution is that you add a manifest file to your exe (can be external but can also be linked into your app) and this manifest file describes the COM components used by your app. By using that you no longer have to register your COM components.
    The manifest contain something like this:
    <?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8" standalone="yes"?>
    <assembly xmlns="urn:schemas-microsoft-com:asm.v1" manifestVersion="1.0">
    
    <assemblyIdentity name="MAIN.EXE" version="6.38.0.0" type="win32" processorArchitecture="*"/>
    
    
    <file name="ActiveMap35.ocx" hashalg="SHA1">
     <comClass
         clsid="{0771306C-934E-4B3B-AB0A-E196335A00B2}"
         description="MapSelector Property Page"/>
     <comClass
         clsid="{0E320890-AA77-4396-BA10-42F80C159895}"
         description="ActiveMap35.Pen"
         threadingModel="apartment"
         progid="ActiveMap35.Pen"/>
    </file>
    etc.


    Robert
    XSharp Development Team
    The Netherlands

    Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

    Reportpro 3 and windows 10 31 May 2019 10:52 #9184

  • wriedmann's Avatar

  • wriedmann


  • Posts: 2300
  • Hi Robert,

    I'm using registration free COM or SideBySide a lot, both with X# COM modules and 3rd party COM modules.
    Some time ago I have spent a lot of time trying to make that work also with ReportPro 3 (for a customer), but have failed.
    Then you had created a COM free version of ReportPro - maybe that could be a part of the X# version of RP3.
    This COM free version works very well (even if you have applications with different VO runtimes and therefore different ReportPro version on the same machine).

    Wolfgang
    Wolfgang Riedmann
    Meran, South Tyrol, Italy

    www.riedmann.it - docs.xsharp.it

    Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

    Reportpro 3 and windows 10 31 May 2019 13:26 #9189

  • BenWoestenburg's Avatar

  • BenWoestenburg

  • Topic Author


  • Posts: 7
  • Thanks Robert, i 'll have a look.

    Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

    Reportpro 3 and windows 10 04 Jun 2020 15:31 #14844

  • HeikoP's Avatar

  • HeikoP


  • Posts: 6
  • Hello Robert,

    im currently trying to get our VO application working complete side-by-side and doing good progress. But RPRT309.DLL doesn´t work. Wolfgang Riedmann wrote, that you created a com-free Version of Report pro. Can I get this too? Or do you have a manifest file for COM-RPRT309.DLL that ist working?

    TIA

    Heiko J. Pongratz

    Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

    Reportpro 3 and windows 10 04 Jun 2020 16:39 #14845

  • HeikoP's Avatar

  • HeikoP


  • Posts: 6
  • Hello Robert,

    I just solved it. I created a manifest for RPRT309.DLL an one for the application using it with a reference to RPRT309.DLL and now it works like a charm!

    If anyone has the same Problem and wants to know a little bit more, please feel free to ask me.

    Greetings

    Heiko J. Pongratz

    Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

    Reportpro 3 and windows 10 04 Jun 2020 17:26 #14846

  • wriedmann's Avatar

  • wriedmann


  • Posts: 2300
  • Hi Heiko,
    it would be very welcome for many Report Pro users to have such a solution - maybe you could contribute it.
    Wolfgang
    Wolfgang Riedmann
    Meran, South Tyrol, Italy

    www.riedmann.it - docs.xsharp.it

    Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

    Reportpro 3 and windows 10 04 Jun 2020 17:30 #14847

  • Chris's Avatar

  • Chris


  • Posts: 2039
  • Yes, please post if for future reference, thanks!
    XSharp Development Team
    chris(at)xsharp.eu

    Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

    Reportpro 3 and windows 10 04 Jun 2020 17:41 #14849

  • HeikoP's Avatar

  • HeikoP


  • Posts: 6
  • Hello Wolfang,

    ok, so i´ll do.

    Here is my manifest for rprt309.dll.

    The name ist important. Is has to be "rpRT309.Manifest". This file has to be in the same directory as rprt309.dll itself. There is also the option to "burn" it into the dll with the MT.EXE from C:\Program Files (x86)\Windows Kits\10\bin\10.0.18362.0\x86\.

    <?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8" standalone="yes"?>
    <assembly manifestVersion="1.0" xmlns="urn:schemas-microsoft-com:asm.v1" xmlns:asmv3="urn:schemas-microsoft-com:asm.v3">

    <assemblyIdentity name="RPRT309" version="3.9.0.0" type="win32" processorArchitecture="x86"/>

    <file name="rpRT309.DLL">
    <comClass
    clsid="{7610B471-BE49-11D0-877E-00609726A5CE}"
    description="ReportPro Runtime"
    tlbid="{7610B470-BE49-11D0-877E-00609726A5CE}"
    threadingModel="Apartment"
    miscStatusContent="cantlinkinside,insideout,activatewhenvisible,renderingisdeviceindependent,invisibleatruntime"
    progid="ReportPro.Runtime.39">
    <progid>ReportPro.Runtime</progid>
    </comClass>
    </file>

    <file name="rpRT309.tlb">
    <typelib
    tlbid="{7610B470-BE49-11D0-877E-00609726A5CE}"
    version="3.9"
    helpdir=""
    flags="hasdiskimage"/>
    </file>

    </assembly>

    So here´s the manifest for the application. It´s names Application.exe.Manifest and has to be in the same directory as the application itself or could be "burned in" with the MT-Tool or could be inserted into the application with a define like this:
    resource CREATEPROCESS_MANIFEST_RESOURCE_ID RC_RT_MANIFEST c:\Applicationprojectspath\Application.exe.manifest

    <assembly xmlns="urn:schemas-microsoft-com:asm.v1" manifestVersion="1.0">
    <assemblyIdentity
    version="20.0.7.1"
    processorArchitecture="X86"
    name="application.exe"
    type="win32"
    />
    <description>This.is.an.application</description>
    <dependency>
    <dependentAssembly>
    <assemblyIdentity
    type="win32"
    name="Microsoft.Windows.Common-Controls"
    version="6.0.0.0"
    processorArchitecture="X86"
    publicKeyToken="6595b64144ccf1df"
    language="*"
    />
    </dependentAssembly>
    </dependency>
    <dependency>
    <dependentAssembly>
    <assemblyIdentity
    type="win32"
    name="RPRT309"
    version="3.9.0.0"
    processorArchitecture="x86" />
    </dependentAssembly>
    </dependency>

    </assembly>

    And of course there could be other dependencies in this manifest, like c# assemblies to extend the abilities of VO.

    Enjoy.

    Heiko J. Pongratz

    Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

    Last edit: by HeikoP. Reason: Spelling

    Reportpro 3 and windows 10 04 Jun 2020 18:33 #14850

  • wriedmann's Avatar

  • wriedmann


  • Posts: 2300
  • Thank you very much, Heiko!
    Wolfgang
    Wolfgang Riedmann
    Meran, South Tyrol, Italy

    www.riedmann.it - docs.xsharp.it

    Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

    • Page:
    • 1