fbpx
Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
Visual Objects

Please use this forum to post questions about Visual Objects and Vulcan.NET
  • Page:
  • 1

TOPIC: ReportPro 2.30a Problem

ReportPro 2.30a Problem 10 Jun 2019 12:41 #9235

  • BiggyRat's Avatar

  • BiggyRat

  • Topic Author

    Hi all. I'm having big trouble designing a report in ReportPro 2.30a. All other Reports I've written lately have been in ReportPro 2.16j so unless it's an "undocumented feature" I can't see what's going on. No matter how I try to format the report, nothing at all prints in the Page body. Not my fields, text, Date, Page numbers etc. Not a thing. Here is the report, the Database (CDX) and an Error which crops up occasionally when closing RP. I'm only trying to preview the report from within ReportPro 2.30a. at this stage, VO has no impact on it at all (that I'm aware of anyway, although I did notice the RP2.30 files needed to be in the CAVO28\Bin directory, so who knows? Certainly not I)

    Any ideas please? Thanks very much

    File Attachment:

    File Name: Jeff.zip
    File Size:4 KB
    Attachments:

    Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

    Last edit: by BiggyRat.

    ReportPro 2.30a Problem 10 Jun 2019 14:58 #9236

  • robert's Avatar

  • robert


  • Posts: 1678
  • Jeff,
    Will have a look at the problem later, but your VO Bin does not look healthy. There should not be any .VOA, CDP and IDX files in this folder. Also the _SYSATOM files do not belong there.
    These files belong to a project (they contain the source code and object code for a project) and should not be mixed with the binary files in the VO BIN Folder.
    I also see SP3 and SP4 subfolder in your VO BIn. I don't know how they got there but you should certainly not mix VO SP3 and VO SP4 binary files as well. That is asking for problems.
    Robert
    XSharp Development Team
    The Netherlands

    Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

    ReportPro 2.30a Problem 10 Jun 2019 15:04 #9237

  • BiggyRat's Avatar

  • BiggyRat

  • Topic Author

    Hi Robert, those Sp3 sp3 folders etc all came in the ReportPro 2.30a download....

    Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

    ReportPro 2.30a Problem 10 Jun 2019 15:06 #9238

  • BiggyRat's Avatar

  • BiggyRat

  • Topic Author

    Hi Robert, those Sp3 sp3 folders etc all came in the ReportPro 2.30a download.... I'll do the other cleaning up as you suggested.

    Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

    ReportPro 2.30a Problem 10 Jun 2019 15:42 #9239

  • robert's Avatar

  • robert


  • Posts: 1678
  • Jeff,
    The idea was that you either copied the contents of the SP3 or the contents of the SP4 folder to the appropriate bin folder.
    Robert
    XSharp Development Team
    The Netherlands

    Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

    ReportPro 2.30a Problem 10 Jun 2019 15:59 #9240

  • BiggyRat's Avatar

  • BiggyRat

  • Topic Author

    Which i did. I just unzipped it all to the bin folder, then copied the files from the sp4 folder to the bin folder

    Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

    ReportPro 2.30a Problem 11 Jun 2019 06:39 #9241

  • BiggyRat's Avatar

  • BiggyRat

  • Topic Author

    I found the problem. Apparently the Page Body was too long. I got it down to 21cm, and it all displayed as it should.... BUT... It begs the question "How do I make a multi page report?"

    Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

    ReportPro 2.30a Problem 11 Jun 2019 07:21 #9242

  • wriedmann's Avatar

  • wriedmann


  • Posts: 2232
  • Hi Jeff,
    that may be the problem, but you should anyway cleanup your system.
    It is a really bad idea to keep a VO project repository in the BIN folder - it should be always a separate folder.
    In my installation, I don't clutter the VO folder - I keep all the project repositories in a separate tree - c:\vorepo:


    This makes it easy to backup the system.
    Wolfgang
    Wolfgang Riedmann
    Meran, South Tyrol, Italy

    www.riedmann.it - docs.xsharp.it
    Attachments:

    Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

    ReportPro 2.30a Problem 11 Jun 2019 16:46 #9243

  • BiggyRat's Avatar

  • BiggyRat

  • Topic Author

    What? No one knows how to make a multi page report in RP 2.30a? I find that very hard to believe.This particular database needs to report on a whole heap of things, including graphical representations, for all sorts of criteria. One report for each record (in this case a JobNumber) could possibly be 3 or 4 pages. What am I missing please?

    Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

    ReportPro 2.30a Problem 11 Jun 2019 17:15 #9244

  • wriedmann's Avatar

  • wriedmann


  • Posts: 2232
  • Hi Jeff,

    unfortunately I'm not working with ReportPro, so I cannot say where the problem stays. But I can immagine that it is not possible to print the data of one record on more than one page - at least in my tool this is a problem and I need to split up these long fields to multiple lines before printing them.
    Wolfgang
    Wolfgang Riedmann
    Meran, South Tyrol, Italy

    www.riedmann.it - docs.xsharp.it

    Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

    ReportPro 2.30a Problem 11 Jun 2019 17:38 #9245

  • NickFriend's Avatar

  • NickFriend


  • Posts: 211
  • Perhaps you should look at doing the report hand-coded, then you can decide when/how to break between pages.

    Nick

    Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

    ReportPro 2.30a Problem 11 Jun 2019 17:53 #9246

  • robert's Avatar

  • robert


  • Posts: 1678
  • Jeff,
    For these kind of reports I create a group on the key expression or recno and spread the contents of the body over the group header, body and group footer. That also allows you to "keep" lines together. And if you want you can also add additional groups on the same expression. Finally this allows you to put a where condition on some of these header/footer sections which makes it easier to suppress or show certain groups of fields.

    Robert
    XSharp Development Team
    The Netherlands

    Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

    ReportPro 2.30a Problem 12 Jun 2019 09:56 #9254

  • Karl-Heinz's Avatar

  • Karl-Heinz


  • Posts: 550
  • Hi Jeff,

    i donĀ“t use ReportPro, but a quick search in the VO-NG gives this hint:

    bit.ly/2X3M9hz

    It seems that the Sample1.rpt has three pages.

    regards
    Karl-Heinz

    Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

    ReportPro 2.30a Problem 13 Jun 2019 05:43 #9291

  • BiggyRat's Avatar

  • BiggyRat

  • Topic Author

    Thanks very much Karl-Heinz, I was not aware of that. I did google, but I saw no mention of those samples. Thanks very much again :)

    Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

    • Page:
    • 1