fbpx
Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:
  • 1

TOPIC: [Xide 1.24] DBServer / FldSpec tpl where?

[Xide 1.24] DBServer / FldSpec tpl where? 08 May 2020 16:34 #14468

  • FFF's Avatar

  • FFF

  • Topic Author


  • Posts: 956
  • Chris,
    just noticed, that you generate a
    #include "VOSystemLibrary.vh"
    #include "VOSystemClasses.vh"
    at the top of a generated DbServer file, which triggers a warning. Wanted to remove the fautly entry, but found, i have no clue, where it is ;)
    Similiar, the generated Assigns still follow the VO way returning the fieldvalue, - another warning... In the code, the Assigns are listed last in the Servercode prg, but this is no part of CavoDeD.tpl.

    Probably i should know, where to look, but the old wetware...
    Regards
    Karl (X# 2.5a; Xide 1.25; W8.1/64 German)

    Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

    [Xide 1.24] DBServer / FldSpec tpl where? 08 May 2020 17:07 #14470

  • Chris's Avatar

  • Chris


  • Posts: 1957
  • Hi Karl,

    Thanks for the reports! The includes to .vh files are hardcoded in the code, had completely forgot about them! Will remove them now.

    About the ACCESS/ASSIGNS, for some bizarre reason, those templates are included in CAVOFED.TPL, not in cavoded!
    XSharp Development Team
    chris(at)xsharp.eu

    Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

    [Xide 1.24] DBServer / FldSpec tpl where? 08 May 2020 17:24 #14472

  • FFF's Avatar

  • FFF

  • Topic Author


  • Posts: 956
  • Chris wrote: Thanks for the reports! The includes to .vh files are hardcoded in the code, had completely forgot about them! Will remove them now.
    About the ACCESS/ASSIGNS, for some bizarre reason, those templates are included in CAVOFED.TPL, not in cavoded!

    ;) Fine.
    Re ACC/ASS - found them, removed the Return Self:Fieldput clause.
    Litte question: i have no /vo 9 set, i.e., missing Returns should trigger a warning - but i didn't get one. Thinking about, i changed the tpl again adding an "empty" Return, but wonder, if there is any advantage doing so...
    Regards
    Karl (X# 2.5a; Xide 1.25; W8.1/64 German)

    Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

    [Xide 1.24] DBServer / FldSpec tpl where? 09 May 2020 00:22 #14484

  • Chris's Avatar

  • Chris


  • Posts: 1957
  • Hi Karl,

    That's for functions/methods that actually should return something, for example you can omit the return in this, if you enable /vo9 :

    FUNCTION Test() AS INT

    No idea why VO allowed such things in the first place...
    XSharp Development Team
    chris(at)xsharp.eu

    Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

    [Xide 1.24] DBServer / FldSpec tpl where? 04 Jun 2020 17:40 #14848

  • FFF's Avatar

  • FFF

  • Topic Author


  • Posts: 956
  • Chris,
    sorry to bother again, but i wonder: All of a sudden i can't enter a value bigger than 99.99 in a numeric 8,2 field. My status line shows something likg "preis length 8" - well, should be short enough? Later on i see the "your changes will be discarded"...
    The strange thing about this is, i haven't touched this table's definition for ages, my generated code has e.g.
    ASSIGN  PREIS(uValue AS FLOAT)  AS FLOAT PASCAL
        RETURN SELF:FieldPut(#PREIS, uValue)
    - I certainly never ever strong typed this code, did we have sometime a tpl which did that?

    Frankly, i feel ATM like in in very bad Vo times - this same app accepted longer prices a week ago :evil:
    Regards
    Karl (X# 2.5a; Xide 1.25; W8.1/64 German)

    Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

    [Xide 1.24] DBServer / FldSpec tpl where? 04 Jun 2020 19:05 #14851

  • Chris's Avatar

  • Chris


  • Posts: 1957
  • Hi Karl,

    Some more information please..where do you get this problem? In a SLE? Standard or modified one? Created by the designer or auto generated? Can you show a sample?
    XSharp Development Team
    chris(at)xsharp.eu

    Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

    [Xide 1.24] DBServer / FldSpec tpl where? 04 Jun 2020 21:01 #14856

  • FFF's Avatar

  • FFF

  • Topic Author


  • Posts: 956
  • Chris,
    i know, i know. Noticed in cell in browse view in a subdatawindow, so auto-generated probably 100 years ago ;)
    But, happens also in browse view of my "servicewindow", which generates a datawindow on the fly.
    AND, it happens in browse view of the StdDataWindow, which Vo generates after "File-Open".

    Thx to your question i realized i could swap to form view - et voila, no problem. Back to browse - no go. Note: the browse view expects first a "insert/overwrite" toggle (as it did in Vo) - then i type eg. 123,45, leave cell (i.e. change record) - in my windows usually appears "your charges will be discarded", in VO-Std always in statusbar "Fehler Preis max Länge ist 8"
    EDIT: Wanted to show this with a new StandardMDI-App/X# from Xide Gallery, but here one can't edit a cell in the browse view, which replaces the old VO Catoxxx.dll...
    Regards
    Karl (X# 2.5a; Xide 1.25; W8.1/64 German)

    Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

    Last edit: by FFF.

    [Xide 1.24] DBServer / FldSpec tpl where? 05 Jun 2020 01:30 #14860

  • Chris's Avatar

  • Chris


  • Posts: 1957
  • Hi Karl,

    That's because by default the sample uses a (Data)ListView for displaying the data. Copy all the CATO*.dll files from your VO installation to the Bin folder of your project and it should use the DataBrowser now.
    XSharp Development Team
    chris(at)xsharp.eu

    Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

    [Xide 1.24] DBServer / FldSpec tpl where? 05 Jun 2020 09:42 #14866

  • FFF's Avatar

  • FFF

  • Topic Author


  • Posts: 956
  • Good Morning!
    Didn't know the cure re DLV, thx.

    Copied the CATOx from Xide\config to bin, - now the sample app works correctly.
    Switched back to my app, File-Open, browse view, "Fehler: Preis max Länge ist 8".
    Copied the Catox from the sample's bin to my app's bin. No change.
    How can that be?
    Regards
    Karl (X# 2.5a; Xide 1.25; W8.1/64 German)

    Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

    [Xide 1.24] DBServer / FldSpec tpl where? 05 Jun 2020 14:59 #14868

  • Chris's Avatar

  • Chris


  • Posts: 1957
  • Hi Karl,

    Extremely difficult to tell without seeing a sample...
    XSharp Development Team
    chris(at)xsharp.eu

    Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

    • Page:
    • 1